Today I rode a bicycle for the first time in…let’s just say a LOT of years.  That statement “as easy as riding a bike” is a little bit of hooey.  We rode 18.1 miles. Eighteen. Point. One. That’s over 18 miles! My shoulders ache, my legs are sore, my nether regions hate me…yet I feel invigorated.

One of the reasons I love so much when we ride on the motorcycle is how freeing it feels. Being out in nature, getting to see and experience the world around me without any distractions, is a precious thing. I don’t have to worry about driving; I can enjoy being a passenger.

It was almost like that on the bike, but I was not hands free like I am on the motorcycle. Which is why there are no pictures of today’s activity. My death grip on the bike handles prevented me from partaking in, and later sharing, digital documentation of our excursion.

bikecrash.4.9.17
Yup. Crashed the bike.

The one pic I did get was of my knee. After the crash. Yes, I crashed. Fortunately, it was toward the end of the ride. But before I crashed, I learned there is a whole city of paved paths out there! Why didn’t anybody tell me about these? They’re awesome, and they stretch from one end of the city to the other. They’re like a labyrinth of activity potential.

When we rode beneath roads and overpasses, I felt like an ant in Honey I Shrunk the Becky. It was as if we were beneath the world, still in it, but watching it from afar, zipping quietly along our private paved path with the cardinals, butterflies, inch worms, roly polies, a coral or “other fellow” snake, and lots of friendly dogs.

It was pretty cool.

What I learned from today is the following:

*Claritin is allergy nectar from the gods. If you live in Texas and haven’t been hit by the evil allergy demons, you will be. Taking something before you venture out is a necessary weapon to use to your advantage.
*Bike butt is a real thing; it comes after sitting on a bicycle for two hours and afterwards it hurts to sit on things. Any things. Pretty much all things. It’s like being saddle sore after riding a horse. Own it. You got out there and activated your body. Good for you!
*Watch the path — like when you play chess and have to think five moves ahead, look ahead on the path to see what’s coming up and around the curves so you don’t crash into a surprise object or person.  (There was no curve in my crash.  Don’t judge me.)
*Take your eyes off the path. What? You just said…I know. What I mean is enjoy the scenery. You’re in God’s country. See what’s around you, experience it, enjoy it, be one with it. Zen out y’all.
*Do not get off the bike before you’re done with your ride. Your nether regions will scream at you. True story.
*Don’t crash your bike on a 2-year-old. You will feel badly all the way home. Yep, my crash was over a 2-year-old adorable little boy sitting innocently in his little car ready to chug along with his brother and dad until my bike handle came down on his leg. He was fine; he just stared at me while I picked my mortified self off the ground and rearranged the bicycle. I was the one who was traumatized.
*Plan to do it again. Keep moving. Keep doing. Keep getting out and enjoying the world while you can. Don’t let anything stop you from getting back out there, even a crash.  And don’t procrastinate. The way things are going, you’ll need to squeeze in as many bike rides as you can before the chemical attack by terrorist zombies starts the apocalypse. True story?

