Disclaimer:  This one is really personal.  And kind of sappy.

Some of us are lucky to have one person in our lives—a close friend, a sibling, a spouse, a pastor, Jesus—who we know we can turn to if we are troubled, someone we can always rely on for words of wisdom, an “atta’ girl” when we need it, or a “suck it up” when that’s more appropriate.

As a Christian, we’re supposed to say that our one voice is Jesus.  We can always turn to Him and listen for His word, pray for guidance and wisdom.  We can always get what we need and want straight from Him.  That is true and real and available.  And it works…sometimes.  Sometimes, though, we need a tangible hug, and a tangible voice.  You know what I mean.

That’s a whole other blog and a whole other message.  Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful, I mean because I’m being honest, but I have to confess…

My one voice isn’t Jesus.  It’s my daughter.

Psalm 127:3 ~ Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from him.

I have been blessed with two remarkable, intelligent, genuine, amazing children.  My son, Zachary, has made me so proud serving our country and now going back to college.  He has a strong voice that—just keepin’ it real, as my former pastor used to tell us—sometimes perturbs me and causes great episodes of consternation, but he is true to himself and forthright with others, if not a little rough still around the edges.  But the love in his heart shines through, like when he checks on his mom like he did when he called me at 11pm last night to see how I was doing in the hail storm.

With Mother’s Day coming up, I started reflecting on what it means to be a mom and what my journey has entailed thus far, and what it continues to embrace as my kids get older and go into different phases of their lives.  I am blessed to be able to watch them blossom, and to still be there as their mom (or “mommy”, depending on the day).

My daughter, Hannah, and I have a special relationship.  We are so close and I cannot fathom what I did to deserve this kind of a blessing.  We have been told we look alike, sometimes act alike, and her friends and mine have commented about how remarkable our relationship is; some have even said they’re jealous.  This delights me, not at their jealousy, but at what they are jealous of.  Yes, that sentence ended with a preposition.  Suck it up.

Hannah has become the one voice above all others I can count on in any situation.  She has grown to be wise and insightful, and she says things out of the blue that hit the right target.  God has grown her and filled her with a light only He could provide.  And I am truly thankful to be the recipient of that.  Sometimes.  When we aren’t hormonal at the same time.  Then it’s a little dark.

Both kids seemed wise beyond their years growing up.  There were times when, as a single parent, I had to learn to be humble.  I learned that just because I was the adult or the parent, I was not always right.  I still had things to learn.  A.  Lot.  Of.  Things.  And sometimes, I would learn these things from my kids.  When I lost a ring my son had given me for Christmas when he was five years old, I sobbed.  I was heartbroken that I had lost his gift to me, and I was afraid he would be hurt that I had lost it.

But he ended up consoling me!  He told me it was okay, he knew it was an accident, and he loved me.  We went out the very next day and bought a duplicate, and I’ve worn it now for 22 more years.  Children are amazing creatures.  Sometimes I think God blesses us with them; sometimes He teaches us with them.  Sometimes, it is phenomenal; sometimes it is painful.  But, all of it is an experience like no other.

I lobbed an idea past my daughter this morning.  I have a lot on my plate right now, and I am seriously freaking out about a lot of things.  I shared what I was contemplating and she knocked that idea on its butt cheeks.  My decision was grounded in fear and that was the wrong way to approach it.  She told me, in her words, that I would essentially be making a mistake to avoid a mistake and I should forge ahead, even in the face of the fear.  “High risk, high reward.”  Who says that?!

She does.  To me.  When I need it most.

1 Thess 5:11 ~ Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

Because she is good at building others up, not just me, but everybody with whom she comes into contact.  That’s her light.  She’s been given a mind to find the right words, and a voice to express them.  And God gave her those gifts.  So maybe my one voice truly is Jesus.

************************************

Becky is a single mom and a reluctant disciple, called to share her story with others in her unconventional way.  She knows God equips her for her journey, and she does her best to trust in His plan for that journey, and not to judge others on their journeys…unless they say she eats too much chocolate; then she can’t be friends with them anymore.  But she will pray for them.  Join her to discover how your plans and God’s plans come together in this life filled with groovy trails.

