I don’t usually do yearly reviews because if I did one, it would pretty much look like this:
2015 – sucked
2016 – must be better, please God!

And that would be the end of the blog.

But it’s not.

I am seeing many of my mentors doing these reviews so I decided this year I will do one because this is the first year I am taking myself seriously as an entrepreneur, and treating my endeavors as a business.

So, I did some soul searching and reflecting about this past year.  I organized my thoughts to pretty closely match the groupings I’d just seen brought up in a video by Jon Acuff.  He said you only need to ask three questions:

1) What do I want to start doing in 2016?
2) What do I want to stop doing in 2016?
3) What do I want to continue doing in 2016?

trail2

Pretty easy, pretty straightforward.  Just the way I like it.  So I thought some more, and I mentally organized.  I wanted to document so whoever read these points could help hold my feet to the fire.  I got ready to write.  I put on some new yoga pants.  I saw my butt.  I cringed.  I ate a piece of fudge.  Because I’m all about balance.  (And that fits under #3…)  Then, I sat down to write.

I won’t share every single thing I came up with, but I’ll touch on the big ticket items that might also resonate with you and help you review your past year and prepare for the new one:

Number 1 – Start

Some people think of a new year as a new start.  They make “New Year’s Resolutions” with a lot of energy and enthusiasm…and then they peter out in about 3-1/2 weeks.  Yes.  Three-and-a-half weeks.

But a new day is also a new start.  We can start something ANY TIME WE WANT TO.  It can be January 1, or September 14, or April 7.  It doesn’t matter.  And it is not a reasonable excuse to say that it isn’t Monday (first day of the new week) or the 1st (new day of the month or year), or whatever else you try to use to NOT start something.

If you do make a resolution or 10 and lose steam after three or so weeks, then make another one or start over on that one.  Because you can!

That goes under #1 on my list…Start something new whenever I want to that I believe will be of benefit to me either personally, professionally, or relationally.

“This is the reason we do not give up.  Though our bodies are wearing  out, our spirits (inner being) are being renewed every day.” ~ 2 Cor 4:16

Number 2 – Stop

I realized (not for the first time) that I hold on to things.  Not just crap and clutter stuff, but ideas and feelings and hopes.  The biggest way this hit me was when I walked around the house this morning.  I very recently broke up with my boyfriend of almost two years.  After a loss like that, we see what they have left behind and it can be painful.  I saw things he’d brought me, gifts and what not, and I thought of the plans that were made, the dreams that were shared, the hopes that were talked about and built up…and shattered.

It could have been painful this morning (truthfully, for the first few weeks it was excruciating) to see these items and remember the plans, but during the healing process, we learn to look at them differently.  We know we can’t hold on to the hopes and plans any longer because, obviously, they aren’t going to happen, so it is freeing and growth-enabling and healing to let them go.

Plus, getting rid of clutter is always a good thing.

That goes under #2 on my list…Stop holding on to things, ideas, thoughts, etc. that are of no benefit to my present and future well-being, and instead purge them and get new ones.

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.” ~ Isaiah 43:18

Number 3 – Continue

I don’t know about you, but I am notorious for underestimating myself.  Did I ever believe I could make it into the Police Academy at 43 years young, run 2 1/2 miles, and be in the best shape of my life (until my knee gave out)?

Never.

beyond the limit

Did I think I could take three online college courses and write a 51,000+ word novel in one month?  Nope.  Change a bathroom faucet and not flood the bathroom?  No sir.  Rip up carpet and install flooring by myself?  Negatory.

Did I ever believe I could be healed via prayer after 31 years of torturous migraines?  Honestly, no I didn’t.  But I didn’t do that one, God did.  But then I ran with it!

The point is, there is a limit to what you think you can do.  And then there is the place beyond that limit that you actually can do.  You must constantly push that limit.  Constantly learn, grow, test, experience, experiment, fight fear…and win.

That goes under #3 on my list…Continue to push myself in every way I can and don’t let fear get in my way.

“The only way to discover the limits of the possible is to go beyond them into the impossible.” ~ Arthur C. Clarke

There are more, but those are the biggies.  I hope your review is enlightening and I wish you a happy, blessed, productive, safe New Year!

*********************************************

Becky is a single mom and a reluctant disciple, called to share her story with others in her own unconventional way.  She knows God will equip her for her journey, and does her best to trust in His plan for that journey, and not to judge others on their journeys – unless the waist of their pants is at their butt cheeks; then she thinks they should pull those puppies up.  Or if somebody says she eats too much chocolate; then she just can’t be friends with them anymore.  But she will pray for them.  Join her to discover how your plans and God’s plans come together in this life filled with groovy trails.

