We can hope, right?
We can hope, right?

Over the years, I have heard different sermons pointing out the idea that if you want to know what someone worships, look at their bank account.  That’s almost completely true.  If it was completely true, it would look like I worship HEB.  Actually, I just like fresh food so I’m there every other day…but my bank account reflects that.

The point is to look at where your money and time go -whether it’s the grocery store, restaurants, fast food joints, bars, clothing stores, coffee places, your church, whatever.

Where is your focus?

I submit an additional idea:  to look at someone’s social media.  What people post, like, share or retweet shows what they like or don’t like, support or oppose.  It gives you unguarded insight into their character and personality.  And we know that’s true because of some of the comments that are posted when someone is “unfriended”.

However, the thought made me a little nervous when I woke up one morning and decided not to post anything negative on my page that day.  I just wanted to take a break from all the “ick” that was usually on my mind.

So no complaints about stress, stupid drivers, Obama’s lack of leadership or knowledge on the battlefield, don’t even get me started on Obamacare, nothing about lack of sleep or feeling like there’ s never enough money, or how much I hate the terrorists…

I was just going to focus on positive things and post the daily quote I always post, share positive stuff from others, my weird dream, cute animal pics, sweet love sentiments…

Then I thought about how some people, on one of my normal post days, might just think I’m a multiple personality or something!  If I examine others’ posts and such, surely others were doing that to me also?  I realized I usually post on two extremes – on the one hand, things about law enforcement and safety and terrorism and the dark googly mooglies that exist in the world but many don’t want to face, and I also share fun, loving, supportive, warm and fluffy, motivational, feel good stuff.

Both extremes are a part of me and, I would venture, a part of you to some extent.  How can that be?  How can we believe and support such seemingly opposite ends of the spectrum?

Because they actually reflect the same things.  I believe in right over wrong, love over hate, good over bad.  Life isn’t all unicorns that fart rainbows that smell like cotton candy but I face that reality and hope, and have faith for, better.  I resent when evil strikes and seems to be winning, but I rejoice in the fact that I read the end of The Book…and GOOD wins!

And all of these facets of my being are how God made me, how He made all of us.  We are all made up of different parts and pieces, thoughts, beliefs, needs, wants, desires, emotions…especially women, and I can say this because I am one.  You may have seen the funny meme:

a-mans-day-vs-a-womans-day

This is no lie.  But it makes us who we are.  By design, our individual bodies are made up of different parts, and our individuality is part of what makes up the body.

“The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body.  So it is with Christ.” ~ 1 Cor 12:12  “…in Christ we who are many form one body.” ~Rom 12:4

As much as our thoughts are a big part of who we are, and contribute to the attitudes we decide at any particular time and reflect to others, on that day, and on many future days, except when there’s something really important, but sadly terrorist- or safety-driven that must be shared, I chose to focus on good things, because they could lead to the unicorns.  Who doesn’t want rainbow farts that smell like cotton candy?

Plus, I got a really great verse in my inbox which I have saved to read every day:

Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest (noble), whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are admirable; if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think on these things.”

